Couch to 5k: Week 1, Day One


The Face of exhaustion
Originally uploaded by davmopedia

I am overweight. I’m not happy about it, but I acknowledge it. I’ll spare you the various levels of discomfort I’ve felt with the corpulence that I’ve lived with for pretty much my entire life, though, since that’s not the point of this post. What is the point is that I’ve decided to change this particular bit of reality. I’ve been working over the past few months to improve my diet (with varying levels of success: my big victory has been in the increase of real food I’ve been eating, as opposed to highly processed crap), and now I’m taking the plunge and starting to exercise.

This has been a long time coming, I’ll be the first to say, and to give myself a regimen, I’ve decided to go with the Couch to 5k plan. Basically, get me running, and all the other chips will fall into place like the perfect ouse of cards. Checkmate.

Today was the first day of this glorious 9-week push, and as one can see from the photo on the right, it wore me out. I’m likely going to do the first week twice, just to ease myself into things, considering that I could barely complete what is admittedly a really, really easy workout.

Seriously. Run for a minute then walk for a minute and a half. Repeat 8 times. Not hard, Dave.

Of course, it wouldn’t be me doing this if I didn’t find a way to geek it up. So here’s how I’ll be using technology to help. Firstly, I’ve started a really basic spreadsheet on Google Docs, where I’ll be tracking the data from weigh-ins via Wii Fit. Second, I’ve found a helpful podcast that was designed to work with the c25k program, with handy vocal prompts for when to change pace. Third, once I manage to find one (outside of the “sport kit” which would be 15-25 dollars more for a receiver I don’t need), I’ll be adding a Nike+iPod sensor to my new running shoes.

So that’s where I stand right now. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to shower.

  1. #1 by Rockanneroll on July 19, 2010 - 11:14 am

    Hey Dave!
    That’s awesome. Fitness is my favourite thing!

    I have one question and one piece of advice that’s always helped me.

    Question:
    What are your shoes like? Having awesome shoes will make a big difference.
    These (http://www.vibramfivefingers.com/) look stupid, but they’re less expensive than sneakers and they will last longer. They’re engineered to change the point of impact when you run, so that your knees don’t get royally effed.
    Anyway, if you like your current sneakers, run with em, but if you’re in the market for new ones in the future, you can get these at MEC if you’re keen on em.

    Advice:
    I’m always The Most Hungry after I’ve exercised, so I do my best to make sure there’s something healthy Completely Ready for me to eat when I get back to the house. Otherwise it’s ice cream on waffles for this gal.

    • #2 by davmopedia on July 19, 2010 - 9:44 pm

      I picked up a fairly basic pair of running shoes when I decided to do this, and honestly, they feel great. That said, I’ll keep those silly-looking sandal-things in mind when it comes time to replace them.

      As for the advice, it certainly makes sense. Since I plan on morning running, though, keeping cereal on hand should help me manage the post-run munchies.

Leave a Reply

